in memory of justin harvey

Justin_Harvey6

Justin Harvey was a dedicated Alumni Association Board member and founder of the inaugural Valencia Annual Run, Walk & Roll on Feb. 26, 2006. He was also a student at UCF at that time and worked tirelessly to coordinate his fellow UCF Student Athletic Trainers Organization members as 5K partners. Justin was well-known and admired as one to always make things happen, especially if it was something new. UCF SATO has been a valued 5K partner each year since then. The Valencia Alumni Relations office received this note earlier this year:

“Three years ago on March 6th, my son Justin Harvey passed away. At the time he was hospitalized, he tried to continue his work on the 5K Run for Valencia Alumni. I will also be grateful to VCC Alumni and PTK for continuing his memory each year through the 5K and the PTK Justin Harvey Scholarship. -Sincerely, Sharon Skoloski (Justin’s Mom)”

Justin Harvey is loved and missed by his many, many friends.

(Article courtesy of the Summer/Fall 2009 VITAE)

6 Responses

  1. sharon, please contact me. Have been looking for you guys for years. I’m so sorry to hear about Justin.

  2. Hello Sis;
    I miss you and Justin and was so very sorry to hear of his passing. Please contact me. Justin has always been like an angel to me and I miss him dearly, but I know he’s an angel watching over us. Please contact me and know that you guys have always been in my prayers and still are.

  3. As always I am so proud of my son. He lives in my heart and soul each and every moment. His family misses him so, and I know that he is always smiling and Shining Out Loud. I thank VCC for all that they do each day for all students.

  4. If you would like to share a memory or thoughts for his family and friends please visit his memorial page:

    http://www.myspace.com/rememberjustinharvey

  5. As one of Justin’s best friends, and as a Valencia alum, I thank the entire Valencia community for supporting his family and friends over the years and helping us honor his memory each and every day. Justin and I decided to become Valencia Alumni Association board members shortly after graduation to further inspire others to give back to the community-at-large through scholarship, fellowship, and service. When Justin and I went on to the University of Central Florida we never forgot our roots. Our myriad of road trips always included stopovers to visit our favorite faculty and staff on the East Campus. When Justin passed away, I engraved the motto we coined while we were students at Valencia into my UCF class ring, “shine out loud”– reminding ourselves to always be the light that might one day inspire the world.

Leave a Reply

