student thanks foundation board

I would first like to thank each and every one of you for allowing me to be a recipient of the Valencia Foundation as well as organizations such as The University Club of Orlando that so generously took the time to invest in my future. It is an absolute honor to be here and briefly share my experiences at Valencia Community College. I’m sure I can speak for all the other recipients when I say, your generosity has made a positive impact in all our lives and that is something I do not take lightly. With the substantial donation I have received you all have said that you believe in “me and my abilities to be a productive member of society”. 

 As a military veteran returning to the unknown of civilian life, I was quite apprehensive and a little nervous about returning to school because I realized that school would be a tremendous investment in terms of my time, energy and finances.  I did my research and found that Valencia has by far one of the best programs in regards to the career path I wanted to pursue. With the financial assistance I have received, it has made my educational pursuit a bit easier and therefore enjoyable.

 I do feel very confident that once I have completed my program, I will be able to utilize the skills and knowledge that I have acquired to be successful. As I look forward to completing my program next summer and beginning a career in sound production, I do plan to continue my course studies at Valencia pre-majoring in journalism and from there transferring to UCF.

 This experience thus far has been nothing short of invigorating and liberating. My only regret is that I waited so long to continue my education.

 Since, you all have chosen to invest in me as well as numerous others, I cannot be more proud and honored to be a part of this wonderful organization.

 Again, I thank you.

Daphne C.
University Club of Orlando Recipient
2009/10

Leave a Reply

