student testimonial – donor gala 2010

Richard - Donor Gala 2010

Good evening my name is Richard D. and I am a new student here at Valencia Community College working on my Associates in Arts Degree in Architecture. I would like to take a few minutes of your time to tell you a little about myself. One of my life-long dreams is to become an Architect. I am presently very fortunate to be working in the field as a designer and draftsman for an Ocala Architecture firm. Over the past seven years of employment with the firm, I have been fortunate to be exposed to many different and challenging design opportunities. When I first started to plan for this journey of higher education, the task seemed somewhat daunting. I was determined to balance the demands of full time employment with my educational goals and most important, my wife and two young sons. With the support and encouragement of my employer and my family, I am finally starting the long road to achieve my dream.

Upon first applying to Valencia, I knew that I would need some financial assistance to make my dream a reality. Upon first applying for financial aid I had been denied due to previously attending Central Florida Community College (CFCC), where I earned an Associates in Arts degree in Liberal Arts. My goal while attending CFCC was to take general education classes so that upon transfer to upper division, I would be able to concentrate on architecture classes. I thought that all was lost. I was very fortunate to meet Mrs. Kenya Richardson, who searched for all possible scholarships. With her support I acquired funding from the American Institute of Architects (AIA).  Receiving any form of assistance with one’s education is a tremendous privilege; but I feel extremely honored to have received assistance from AIA. With the generous assistance of AIA, my educational goals are becoming a reality. I hope one day to become a member of the AIA and assist another deserving student achieve their educational goals.

After I complete the coursework here at Valencia Community College, I plan to transfer to the University of Central Florida where I will pursue my Bachelor’s Degree and then my Master’s.  I want to take this opportunity to thank the American Institute of Architects, the board of directors, donors and the staff at Valencia. Your dedication and support has truly changed the direction of my life and now I’ll be able to fulfill my life-long dream of being an architect. I appreciate your time in listening to my story.

Richard D.
American Institute of Architects Recipient
2009/10

Leave a Reply

