inspirational alumni blog revisited

Laura and Dr. Shugart

In November, we shared with you a wonderfully inspirational blog, the “Holdin Out for a Hero” blog written by Laura (Valencia alumna, 2006).

In Laura’s words:

I’ve decided to write a blog that will chronicle my search for a spokesperson for people with the condition that I have, spina bifida. It is the #1 cause of paralysis in children in America. It is also more common than muscular dystrophy, multiple sclerosis, and cystic fibrosis combined.

But, why should you even care about this blog? Well, the fact of the matter is that while taking folic acid can help prevent having a child with spina bifida, there is no known cure for it, and my goal is to encourage people to get the conversation going about spina bifida, and how we can all help people through research and quality of life programs.

Laura recently updated her blog with a beautiful salute to Dr. Shugart.

March 2, Laura writes:

I remember shaking his hand, and then as we took our seats at the table in the boardroom, I nervously clicked on my tape recorder and sat, poised and ready to jot down whatever he said, word for word.

Before asking any questions, I began with a brief explanation that I had done a little research about him.

“Did you Google me?” he asked. I laughed a little shyly, but immediately relaxed considerably. This was no stuffy school principal who was holding my “permanent record.” This was a classy, sophisticated, yet laid-back guy who, in spite of the title, was “down” with the students. He knew us…

…All that being said, as he is an exceptional leader in the college arena (leading one of the top five community colleges in the nation!), and since his support, though demonstrated through our brief encounters, has been instrumental to my success as a student and as a journalist, I think it’s safe to say Dr. Shugart is a hero all around…

…What amazes me most about him though is that he seems to treat each student at Valencia (and alumni, too) as if he or she were the student that matters most…

Please take a moment to check out Laura’s piece about the person that leads Valencia Community College today.

http://willyoubemyhero.wordpress.com/2010/03/02/day-185-dr-sanford-sandy-shugart/

We thank you, Laura!

Leave a Reply

