scholarship recipient thank you letter

It is with extreme gratitude that I write this letter of thanks to you. My name is Elizabeth Labbe and I am the proud recipient of the Mildred Overstreet Scholarship. Scholarships such as this one will substantially lessen the financial burden on my family and will also allow me to devote a greater amount of time to my studies. The Mildred Overstreet Scholarship is one of the rewards that make a quality education possible for a hardworking and ambitious student such as me. I am grateful for your kindness and your involvement in the promotion of success in the lives of college students.

I am a political science major with an emphasis in pre-law. I am currently a sophomore and plan to graduate from Valencia in the summer of 2012. After graduation, I will attend University of South Florida – Honors College to earn my bachelor’s degree in political science; then continue on to law school. I have my heart set on Columbia Law School. I plan to pursue a career in government upon graduating law school with hopes of becoming a secretary of state. Eventually, I’d like to do humanitarian work in the U.S. and abroad to help those who need it most. Thanks to you and your donation, I am one step closer to that goal. The financial assistance that you’ve provided will be of great help to me in paying my educational expenses. I have been fortunate enough to see the reality that so many people around the world never have a chance to – to become educated. Because of this, I am grateful and do not take for granted my own opportunity for education. Coming from a small town in Haiti, it was instilled in me by my parents, both of whom are struggling lower middle class workers, to reach for the stars. As you can see, my career goals are not far from what they asked.

Thanks to your confidence in me, you reaffirmed that my dreams are possible. Your generosity is appreciated and accepted with extreme honor. I once again thank you sincerely for believing in me. By awarding me the Mildred Overstreet Scholarship, you have lifted my financial burden by a significant amount. This will allow me to focus more on my studies and projects, and the most important aspect of school, learning. Your generosity has inspired me to help others and give back to the community. I hope one day I will be able to help students achieve their goals just as you have helped me.

Leave a Reply

