scholarship thank you

It is a wonderful part of my job, reading scholarship recipient letters. They are full of thanks and gratitude. Often, it is not just the money, students are grateful that someone cared enough to support their journey. The letters are filled with personal stories, some hardships, but always with a hopeful look to the future. These students know that their Valencia education will lead to a better life.

Valencia student and scholarship recipient, Michelle Morales-Pineda, writes a personal note of thanks upon receiving the Josephine and William Chen Family Scholarship.

I am honored to have been chosen as a recipient for the Josephine and William Chen Family Scholarship. Your generosity has further inspired me to continue on my current path toward acquiring a degree in elementary education.

Your decision to go back to school after being married and raising your children is very dear to my heart, because I too decided to go back to school and get a college education after being married and raising my children. Among my five other siblings, I am the very first to attend college. Not only do I strive to be a mentor and positive role model for the children I am given the opportunity to work with, but also for my two sons. My husband was recently unemployed for almost three months, which makes your scholarship truly a blessing.

What I have experienced here as a student has instilled the encouragement and skills needed to fulfill my goal of becoming an outstanding citizen and leader in the community through working with children. During this time, I have been on the President’s List every semester, with the exception of the fall 2011 semester when I was on the Dean’s List. Currently, I am part of the inaugural class of the James M. and Dayle L. Seneff Honors College and am also a member of Phi Theta Kappa. My future plans include continuing to work toward a master’s degree in education, serving on the board of education and eventually acquiring my PhD.

My family and I sincerely thank you with all our hearts and your generosity is appreciated beyond words.

One Response

  1. My name is Donte Gardner and I’m emailing you guys to give thanks for what you guys have done for me. I was having a financial problem and there was a book I couldn’t afford, and I was stressed out that I would never get it without taking out loans. But you guys came through and gave me a scholarship so I can purchase my book and continue my education. I’m very grateful that you guys are caring and love to see students try to make something out of their life. You guys have really blessed me and I would just love to say thanks. This is something that I will always remember. Have a wonderful day and God bless.

Leave a Reply

